The awards will be presented at a dinner at the Grand Hyatt hotel in Hong Kong on September 28.

The awards, which build on Asialaw’s comprehensive expertise in identifying the leading lawyers and firms through its research-based Asialaw Profiles and Leading Lawyers guides, will recognise the foremost litigation and dispute resolution leaders and practitioners in 12 practice areas and across 14 jurisdictions around the region.

Read a summary of the awards and about the methodology here.

The submissions process gave firms the opportunity to list their achievements in the past 12 months (that is, May 2016 to May 2017) in disputes and litigation that are changing the dispute resolution landscape in Asia and nominate those practitioners they consider to be the most capable.

The awards will also recognise one disputes star for each jurisdiction, as well as one Asia-Pacific rising star, the arbitration practitioner of the year, the barrister of the year, and the winners of the lifetime achievement and outstanding practitioner achievement awards. 

Information submitted by national and regional firms about their litigation and dispute resolution practices for the purposes of Asialaw Profiles research was also used for these awards.

Please note that international firms were not eligible to apply for the national law firm awards, which cover these jurisdictions:


New Zealand



Hong Kong



South Korea








The regional practice area awards comprise these categories:

Banking & Finance

Intellectual Property

Compliance & Regulatory (including FCPA)


Construction / Real Estate

Labour & Employment

Energy & Natural Resources



Shipping & Maritime




Award winners are being selected applying Asialaw’s rigorous and extensive methodology. After the publication of the shortlists in the coming days, Asialaw editorial staff will undertake detailed research from a variety of sources to select the winners, beginning with the submissions from firms which will be a vital part of this research. However, Asialaw will also be consulting both private practice lawyers, in-house counsel and barristers. Final decisions will be made by Asialaw and are entirely independent.

Refresh your memory about last year’s winners here.