asialaw Awards 2021

*asialaw Awards 2021 Shortlist can be viewed here*

*To register for asialaw Awards 2021's virtual ceremony on Thursday 30th September, click here.*


The awards decisions will be based on the submissions and research for the asialaw Profiles and Leading Lawyers 2022 edition.

There is no need for any separate awards submissions. Firms participate in asialaw annual research process will automatically be considered for the awards.


View asialaw Awards 2020 winners: 


Overall guidance

The awards will be judged according to:

  • Innovation (Did the advice the firm gave show something more than the straightforward answer that is commonly used?)
  • Complexity (Did the matter address legal issues that were out of the ordinary and what ingenuity did the firm show to solve them?)
  • Impact (What impact did the advice have on the client? For example, did it help them take over their biggest rival? Issue equity and debt in a particular market for the first time? Win an unprecedented judgement in court?)


Regional awards categories

These categories honour the best firms across the Asia-Pacific region under the following categories:

Legal expertise awards:

  1. Banking and finance
  2. Capital markets
  3. Competition/antitrust
  4. Corporate M&A
  5. Dispute resolution
  6. Intellectual property
  7. Labour and employment
  8. Regulatory
  9. Restructuring and insolvency
  10. Tax

Industry expertise awards:

  1. Aviation and shipping
  2. Banking and financial services
  3. Energy
  4. Infrastructure
  5. Insurance
  6. Real estate
  7. Technology and telecommunications

While these awards will be regional, the nominees do not necessarily have to be from regional firms. National firms will be considered.

Jurisdictional Firms of the year

These awards will recognise the best firms in each of the 23 jurisdictions covered by asialaw. It is aimed at those who have displayed outstanding achievement in advising clients on local law matters, across a range of practice areas.

  1. Bangladesh
  2. Brunei
  3. Cambodia
  4. China
  5. Hong Kong
  6. India
  7. Indonesia
  8. Japan
  9. Kazakhstan
  10. Laos
  11. Macau
  12. Malaysia
  13. Maldives
  14. Mongolia
  15. Myanmar
  16. Pakistan
  17. Philippines
  18. Singapore
  19. South Korea
  20. Sri Lanka
  21. Taiwan
  22. Thailand
  23. Vietnam

Editor’s choice awards

Impact cases and impact deals of the year

Asialaw’s editors will convene to select a number of cases and deals which had a national, or even regional, impact over the year. There will be no shortlists for this category. All law firms and in-house on the deals selected will be honoured at the ceremony.

Best newcomer of the year

To be eligible for this award, editors will analyse the work in 2020 of any firm that has been set up in any jurisdiction in Asia in the last five years.

Asia firm of the year

This award will go to the firm, which has performed the best over all categories. Although it is likely to be a regional firm, domestic firms are considered. Editors are looking for a firm that has displayed outstanding achievement, and made a substantial impact, in advising clients on matters across a range of practice areas.

Client service excellence awards

Firm of the year

These awards are decided using the objective data asialaw captured regarding client feedback during the 2022 edition research process. In deciding the shortlist, each firm will be given an average score using the client’s surveys. The award will go to the firm with the highest score. There will be no shortlists for Client service excellence awards. All winners in this category will be honoured at the ceremony.

Lawyer of the year

Similar to the impact cases and deals, the asialaw editors will select a number of individuals who had great achievements in the previous year based on the research teams’ analysis of the matters that lawyer handled. The process will also include analysis on the individual scores provided by clients in surveys provided to asialaw. There will be no shortlists for Client service excellence awards. All winners in this category will be honoured at the ceremony.



For more enquiries, please contact our team:

Kelsy Li
Senior Research Analyst