asialaw has been closely monitoring the developing COVID-19 situation and its potential impact on our delegates and clients.

To ensure the health and safety of our delegates and clients which is the top priority for us, we have decided not to host an awards ceremony this year.
asialaw will instead announce winners online and offer a series of programmes that will explore and profile the work covered in the awards. 

The shortlist will be revealed on 30 June 2020. 

If you have any concerns or questions, please contact James Murray at 


This year, the awards decisions are based on the submissions and research for the 2020 asialaw guide. Firms have been asked for extra information on deals or cases which closed in the remainder of 2019. You can submit it through our AWARDS SUBMISSION PORTAL.

The awards submission deadline is Monday, 3 February 2020

Overall guidance

The awards will be judged according to:

  • Innovation (Did the advice the firm gave show something more than the straightforward answer that is commonly used?)
  • Complexity (Did the matter address legal issues that were out of the ordinary and what ingenuity did the firm show to solve them?)
  • Impact (What impact did the advice have on the client? For example, did it help them take over their biggest rival? Issue equity and debt in a particular market for the first time? Win an unprecedented judgement in court?)

For work completed between January and April 2019, the information has been captured in the asialaw 2020 edition. Firms have been encouraged to send supplementary information for matters closed between June and December 2019 inclusive.

Regional awards categories

These categories honour the best firms across the Asia-Pacific region under the following categories:

Legal expertise awards:

  1. Banking and finance
  2. Capital markets
  3. Competition/antitrust
  4. Corporate M&A
  5. Dispute resolution
  6. Intellectual property
  7. Labour and employment
  8. Regulatory
  9. Restructuring and insolvency
  10. Tax

Industry expertise awards:

  1. Aviation and shipping
  2. Banking and financial services
  3. Energy
  4. Infrastructure
  5. Insurance
  6. Real estate
  7. Technology and telecommunications

While these awards will be regional, the nominees do not necessarily have to be from regional firms. National firms will be considered.

Domestic Firms of the year

These awards will recognise the best firms in each of the 25 jurisdictions covered by asialaw. It is aimed at those who have displayed outstanding achievement in advising clients on local law matters, across a range of practice areas.

  1. Australia
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Brunei
  4. Cambodia
  5. China
  6. Hong Kong
  7. India
  8. Indonesia
  9. Japan
  10. Kazakhstan
  11. Laos
  12. Macau
  13. Malaysia
  14. Maldives
  15. Mongolia
  16. Myanmar
  17. New Zealand
  18. Pakistan
  19. Philippines
  20. Singapore
  21. South Korea
  22. Sri Lanka
  23. Taiwan
  24. Thailand
  25. Vietnam

Editor’s choice awards

Impact cases and impact deals of the year

Asialaw’s editors will convene to select a number of cases and deals which had a national, or even regional, impact in 2018. There will be no shortlists for this category. All law firms and in-house on the deals selected will be honoured at the ceremony.

Best newcomer of the year

To be eligible for this award, editors will analyse the 2018 work of any firm that has been set up in any jurisdiction in Asia in the last five years.

Asia-Pacific firm of the year

This award will go to the firm, which has performed the best over all categories. Although it is likely to be a regional firm, domestic firms are considered. Editors are looking for a firm that has displayed outstanding achievement, and made a substantial impact, in advising clients on matters across a range of practice areas.

Operational awards

Client service awards

These awards are decided using the objective data asialaw captured regarding client feedback during the 2018 research process. In deciding the shortlist, each firm will be given an average score using the client’s surveys. The award will go to the firm with the highest score. There will be no shortlists for the client service awards. All winners in this category will be honoured at the ceremony.

Outstanding practitioners

Similar to the impact cases and deals, the asialaw editors will select a number of individuals who had great achievements in 2018 based on the research teams’ analysis of the matters that lawyer handled. The process will also include analysis on the individual scores provided by clients in surveys provided to asialaw. There will be no shortlists for the outstanding practitioners. All winners in this category will be honoured at the ceremony.

For more enquiries, please contact our team: 

Joanna Yang 

William Lo 
Commercial director